ABC wins six out of 12 gongs at Tasmanian Media Awards



May 13, 2017 11:41:55

The ABC has dominated at the 2017 Tasmanian Media Awards, taking out six of the 12 categories.

At a ceremony in Hobart last night, ABC News Tasmania’s political reporter Richard Baines was named Journalist of the Year.

He also took out the Best News Story category for his coverage of Tasmania’s child protection system.

Chris Wisbey, who has been a broadcaster with the ABC for over 30 years, won the peer-nominated Keith Welsh Award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism.

Journalist of the Year

Winner: Richard Baines

What the judges said:

“Excellent level and breadth of entries in this category; however, judges also made comment about overall lack of digital treatment of stories and use of social media to tell stories. This is important as our audiences have moved away from traditional platforms and technology has given journalists more flexibility in their storytelling. Richard Baines from the ABC was judged the winner for his coherence and narrative as a journalist, successfully unifying his story series under a serious journalistic agenda.

“Richard demonstrated excellent use of the television medium with his story construction, content and use of graphics in a news format. The impact of his stories also showed his willingness to hit hard.”

Read stories by Richard Baines.

Best News Story

Winner: Richard Baines (Letting The Most Vulnerable Down — Tasmania’s Child Protection Woes)

What the judges said:

“Richard Baines was judged the winner because of the depth of his research, following the initial Four Corners coverage, to identify a whistleblower, and take the next step. His stories demonstrated both consideration and care for the people involved, especially the children affected.

“Richard’s coverage broadened the issues for the entire Tasmanian community and delivered an outcome in that the Government changed its policy with regard to the contracted organisation.”

Science, Environment and Health reporting

Winner: Felicity Ogilvie

What the judges said:

“The body of work presented by Felicity Ogilvie, covering all three subjects in this category, was the unanimous winner … [with] judges commenting on the quality of research and investigation [and] the fact all were significant news breaking stories at a national level but with local ramifications.

The judges commented that her coverage of the Antarctic Division’s decision to close its Macquarie Island base, was “a fine example of her work”, with the Minister reversing the decision within 24 hours of the story airing.

“Felicity’s story in getting a doctor at the Launceston General Hospital [to] speak publicly about the mass exodus of specialist staff and its impact, was also singled out for praise,” they said.

Read stories by Felicity Ogilvie.

Excellence in Legal Reporting

Winner: Michael Atkin (Child Abuse Commission — Body of Work)

What the judges said:

“Michael Atkin’s entry — four national news stories and two national 7.30 reports from the hearings of the royal commission into child abuse hearings in Tasmania — was exceptional.”

“Michael produced stories on this difficult topic stripped of sensationalism, he provided the facts in a measured but comprehensive way, and provided new and, through his interviews with victims, deeply personal insights into the impact of child sex abuse within the church.

“It is a story that stays with the viewer. He produced this fine body of work with tight daily deadlines and negotiating the legal complexities of defamation.

“Congratulations Michael Atkin on an outstanding body of work.”

Read stories by Michael Atkin.

Keith Welsh Award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism

Winner: Chris Wisbey

What the judges said:

“Chris Wisbey from the ABC wins the 2017 Keith Welsh Award for his telling of Tasmanian stories. He has dealt with sensitive issues with an engaging storytelling style for some three decades. He has built an archive of people and places in Tasmania, telling uniquely Tasmanian stories about Tasmanians.”

“Chris has developed and built an oral history of the state along the way, giving people a voice and encouraging them to become storytellers.”

Listen to Chris Wisbey.

Arts Reporting

Winner: Rick Eaves

What the judges said:

“Competition for the arts reporting award was strong, but the judges were united in their decision to award the prize to Rick Eaves for his body of work. The judging panel were particularly impressed with his piece about singer Claire Anne Taylor, which transported the reader or listener to the edge of the Tarkine to hear about how this emerging artist grew up and the influences on her life.”

“Rick’s other two pieces also displayed a variety and talked about arts not necessarily profiled in the mainstream media, and used multimedia well across the board to tell the stories.”

Read stories by Rick Eaves.

Full list of winners:

ABC Tasmania finalists in other award categories included Linda Hunt, Edith Bevin, Michael Atkin, Pablo Vinales, Fiona Breen, Scott Rollinson, Alexandra Blucher and Elise Fantin.

This was the full list of winners on the night:

Best News Image: Matthew Growcott (Win News Tasmania: Moonah Siege)

Arts Reporting: Rick Eaves (ABC News Online: Body of Work)

Science, Environment and Health: Felicity Ogilvie (ABC Radio AM: Body of Work)

Best Sports Coverage: Brent Costelloe (WIN Television: Body of Work)

Mental Health Reporting: Tamara McDonald (The Examiner: Body of Work)

Comment and Analysis: Sally Glaetzer (The Mercury/Tas Weekend: Body of Work)

Excellence in Legal Reporting: Michael Aitkin (ABC TV and News Online: Child Abuse Commission – Body of Work)

Best Feature, Documentary or Current Affairs: Sally Glaetzer (Tas Weekend: Port Arthur Massacre Anniversary Coverage)

Best News Story: Richard Baines (ABC News: Letting the Most Vulnerable Down – Tasmania’s child protection woes)

Best New Journalist: Michelle Wisbey (The Examiner – Body of Work)

Keith Welsh Award for Outstanding Contribution to Journalism: Chris Wisbey (ABC)

Journalist of the Year: Richard Baines (ABC)





First posted

May 13, 2017 10:39:30

Source by [author_name]

Related posts